background img
Free outdoor movies denver

Denver’s free outdoor movie nights 2021 (plus Red Rocks Film on the Rocks)

posted by:

A couple of years ago, I got a projector and we hung a painter’s cloth in front of the driveway. We invited a few of the neighbors to join us on an outdoor movie night. This tradition has continued every summer Friday. We always play old movies and they can’t be rated over PG-13. But if someone in your neighborhood doesn’t have a projector, you can certainly join in the fun of an outdoor movie. We’ve compiled a list of several of the movies that are happing in the Denver area this summer.  

Also, don’t miss Red Rocks’ Film on the Rocks, your favorite movies in the most iconic settings. This is definitely not free but I will include the schedule below. 

Also, see our guide to Denver’s free outdoor concerts

Free Outdoor Movie Nights in Denver

JUNE

JULY

AUGUST

SEPTEMBER

 *Backcountry in Highlands Ranch also has a movie night – but there is a cost of $25/vehicle. Additionally, Film on the Rocks has created a drive-in option, however, it also is a paid event. This is a list of free events, not an exhaustive list of all events.

Film on the Rocks

Film on the Rocks is back for its 22nd season! Enjoy a one-of-a-kind drive-in movie experience at the iconic Red Rocks Park & Amphitheatre as well as in-amphitheatre films.

Drive-in films will be presented on an LED screen located in the Red Rocks Lower South Lot 2 parking area with audio delivered via a designated FM radio frequency. RVs, buses, or any hitched trailers are not allowed and will be denied entry. No grilling on the grounds, vehicle roofs or hoods. Cost: $59.50 per car which includes Coke, popcorn and candy. Gates open at 7: 3p .m., the film starts at 8:30 p.m. 

Week 1 (5/26-5/31)

• Wednesday, May 26 — “Dirty Dancing”

• Thursday, May 27 — “Jaws”

• Friday, May 28 — “Enter the Dragon”

• Saturday, May 29 — “The Sandlot”

• Sunday, May 30 — “Beetlejuice”

• Monday, May 31 — “Aliens”

Week 2 (6/2-6/6)

• Wednesday, June 2 — “Pee-wee’s Big Adventure”

• Thursday, June 3 — “Don’t Tell Mom the Babysitter’s Dead”

• Friday, June 4 — “The Avengers”

• Saturday, June 5 — “Coming to America”

• Sunday, June 6 — “Fantastic Mr. Fox”

Week 3 (6/9-6/13)

• Wednesday, June 9 — “La Bamba”

• Thursday, June 10 — “Moulin Rouge”

• Friday, June 11 — “Black Panther”

• Saturday, June 12 — “The Lost Boys”

• Sunday, June 13 — “Goldeneye”

Week 4 (6/16-6/20)

• Wednesday, June 16 — “Do the Right Thing”

• Thursday, June 17 — “Legally Blonde”

• Friday, June 18 — “Raiders of the Lost Ark”

• Saturday, June 19 — “Independence Day”

• Sunday, June 20 — “The Shining”

IN-VENUE SCREENINGS

With doors opening at 6:30 p.m., entertainment at 7 p.m., and movies starting at dusk

• Monday, July 12 — “Casino Royale”

• Monday, July 19 — “Jurassic Park”

• Monday, August 2 — “The Princess Bride

Gretchen
Author: Gretchen

Gretchen loves to be outdoors! She is addicted to coupons and finding the best deals or entering sweepstakes (one day she will win something really great!)

You may also like
Comments