Share This Post

Books / fatherhood

A Father’s Love: 10 books about dads and daughters

A Father’s Love: 10 books about dads and daughters

For many daughters, story time with Daddy is a treasured ritual at the end of a busy day — the perfect time to reconnect and enjoy some quiet time together. A Mighty Girl put together a selection of books perfect for father-daughter reading. Whether he’s cuddling with his newborn girl or laughing with his tween, the father in your life will love these books.

Baby Dance

Written by: Ann Taylor
Illustrated by: Marjorie van Heerden
Recommended Age: 0 – 2

19th century poet Ann Taylor’s homage to a father dancing, twirling, and cuddling with his infant child makes a beautiful, rhythmic board book, perfect for reading — and dancing to! Van Heerden’s pastel illustrations show the fun and playfulness of this father and daughter sneaking a little special time together as Mommy sleeps nearby. Babies will love the rhythm — and the excuse for a little extra time with Daddy.

Price: $7.12

The Daddy Book

Written by: Todd Parr
Recommended Age: 0 – 3

Does your Daddy wear a business suit or mismatched socks? Have lots of hair or none? Work at home or work away? Todd Parr’s distinctive illustrations show a fun, brightly-colored, diverse bunch of Daddies. His depictions of the wide variety of fathers out there is sure to hint at some of the father in your family — and, he reminds you, there are some things all Daddies do: they all want to be with you, and they all love you!

Price: $6.29
 

My Dad Is Amazing

New!
Written by:Sabrina Moyle
Illustrated by:Eunice Moyle
Recommended Age: 1 – 4

The yeti dad in this book is simply amazing! His child proudly declares that Dad is “cooler than a million popsicles” — and that’s not all; he’s also “tougher than a rhino wrestler” and “cuddlier than a ton of bunnies.” And best of all, Dad is always ready to remind his little ones that they’re pretty amazing too! This board book by the creators of the Hello!Lucky greeting card and design studio has exuberant illustrations and simple but expressive text that’s perfect for the youngest father-daughter pairs to share.

Price: $7.18

Daddy Hugs

Written by:Karen Katz
Illustrated by:Karen Katz
Recommended Age: 1 – 4

Daddy loves to give his baby plenty of hugs — there’s no better to say “I love you!” Dad and Baby can count along with this sweet, colorful board book, just the right size for little hands. It’s a great way to celebrate cuddly times between a father and a daughter. Full of Karen Katz‘s vivid, appealing illustrations, this is sure to be a favorite.

Price: $6.49

Ladybug Girl and Her Papa

Written by:Jacky Davis
Illustrated by:David Soman
Recommended Age: 2 – 4

It’s a perfect day for Lulu — aka Ladybug Girl — to spend with her father! Everything is an adventure when they’re together, from hiking a trail and skipping rocks to hanging up laundry to dry. And as the pair make pancakes and build a birdhouse, they’re also creating special memories of father-daughter time together. This sweet board book is perfect for fans of Ladybug Girl to read over and over with their fathers. For more books starring this popular character, visit our Ladybug Girl Collection.

Price: $5.32

Knuffle Bunny: A Cautionary Tale

Written by:Mo Willems
Illustrated by:Mo Willems
Recommended Age: 2 – 6

Daddy, Trixie, and her beloved stuffed Knuffle Bunny go on an adventure to the laundromat together… but when they head home, Trixie suddenly realizes that somebunny has been left behind! When you can’t say any words, it’s awfully hard to let people know exactly why you’re so upset. Fortunately, once Mommy and Daddy realize that Knuffle Bunny is missing, Daddy is ready to run to the rescue and get him back…resulting in a very special story about Trixie’s first word. Mo Willems’ expressive illustrations are the perfect foil to this hilarious story of communication gone awry, and fans of the book can even get their very own Knuffle Bunny.

Price: $12.24

Lola Loves Stories

Written by:Anna Mcquinn
Illustrated by:Rosalind Beardshaw
Recommended Age: 3 – 5

In Lola at the Library, we got to see Lola’s special time with Mommy; now it’s Daddy’s turn! Every night, Daddy reads to Lola, and she spends the next day acting out the story — from princesses to pilots, tigers to farmers, there’s nothing she won’t explore! This celebration of imagination and the power of books to help grow young minds pays tribute to an often treasured father-daughter ritual: storytime.

Price: $6.95

With My Daddy: A Book of Love and Caring

New!
Written by:Jo Witek
Illustrated by:Christine Roussey
Recommended Age: 3 – 6

Nothing is better than spending time with dad, as far as this spunky girl is concerned! They ride bikes and swim; they imagine amazing games, or relax and take it easy. Being around Dad makes her feel powerful and strong — brave enough to challenge herself by getting thrown high up in the air or facing a nearby dog — but when her feelings overwhelm her, he’s also there to make her feel safe and calm. This sweet companion to In My Heart is a celebration of the way that dads support, nurture, and encourage their Mighty Girls.

Price: $12.53

Biscuit Loves Father’s Day

Illustrated by:Pat Schories
Recommended Age: 3 – 6

Pets are part of the family too — which means for dog-loving Daddies and daughters, the family puppy might be part of the fun! In this lift-the-flap book, Biscuit and his girl with the purple sneakers make sure that the day is full of special activities to honor and celebrate Dad. Dads will smile at the careful thoughtfulness devoted to making sure that Dad’s day is extra special.

Price: $5.98

The Night Before Father’s Day

Written by:Natasha Wing
Illustrated by:Amy Wummer
Recommended Age: 3 – 6

Father’s Day is tomorrow, and while Dad is out on a bike ride, Mom and the kids work on an extra special surprise! Together, they tidy up everything in the garage and then scrub the car until it’s sparkling clean. And when Dad wakes up the next day, the natural reaction is to decide take a Father’s Day drive — with his family. This charming story, based on the poem “The Night Before Christmas,” is a great way to celebrate how the whole family loves their Dad.

Price: $4.99
 
Go here for the full list of 30 awesome books!
Mile High Mamas
Author: Mile High Mamas

Share This Post

Leave a Reply